Privacy | Disclaimer | Terms | Email

India: Languages

Indian Languages

India's original 14 states were formed mainly on language barriers. Indian languages have different origins. The languages evolved from the Indo-European group of languages are known as Indic languages. Gujarathi, Marathi, Punjabi etc belong to this group. The South Indian languages which are distinctly different from the Indic languages and includes Tamil, Malayalam, Telugu etc. are known as the Dravidian group.

Hindi is the official language of India. But English is widely spoken and used. Even though there are 1600 dialects in India, the main languages beside Hindi and English are Assamese, Bengali, Gujarathi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Malayalam, Marathi, Oriya, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu and Urdu.